The Lottery Retirement Plan

Many of my coworkers play Lotto Max and Lotto 649. So do my parents and some of my friends. Their logic: it’s just a couple of bucks, and somebody has to win so why not me? Pretty slick advertising campaign. Better than the $1000 per week for life, or whatever that is. I don’t even know what the exact prize name is called because the tv ads turn me offffffff. Playing pool is a luxury? 4-wheeling? Does the fact that I have in fact taken part in these activities mean I’m already wealthy?!

I don’t play the lottery. I call it a special tax for people who are bad at math. My coworkers are baffled, because after all ‘it’s just a couple of bucks’. I suppose you could classify the $2 as the catalyst for fantasizing about being uber-wealthy. Nonetheless, I don’t play.

I do fantasize about quitting my cube job. I’ve decided these thoughts are harmless and they bring me temporary joy. I spend some time thinking about what I would do with my time if I wasn’t at an office Monday – Friday. Given the opportunity to whatever I want, I have no freaking idea what I would do. It’s a frightening prospect to have a blank canvas with no limitations of money, education or time. All of the career coaching books I have read tell me to perform this mental exercise before doing ANYTHING else. But has anyone ever done this? I’ll wager no, not fully. Go ahead and do it yourself. I’ll wait.

It’s much easier to blame my dissatisfaction on my job circumstances than on my own action/inaction. Just like it’s easy to remain in a sad marriage because it’s easier to blame your spouse for your unhappiness than it is on yourself. (I’m related to a few people who are living that paradigm btw and it’s like watching someone serve their jail time.) Blaming external forces for your unhappiness is convenient, easy, and incredibly common. Just like putting your hopes onto winning the lottery instead of creating your own success through innovation and hard work. That way, you can never fail! You never tried, so you can never fail. This mentality is incredibly commonplace.

I’m doing myself a favour by taking some time this weekend to think about what I would do if I could do anything.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

