Don’t say you’re sorry. That’s boring.

If you haven’t watched Girls on HBO then you are probably not the target audience. It’s a pretty specific demographic but there are some real zingers most people can relate to and enjoy. See title of this post.

It is so easy to say Sorry. The proverb “it’s easier to beg for forgiveness than it is to ask for permission” will forever be true. And we have all witnessed a child being forced to say I’m sorry. It’s fake, everyone knows it’s fake, and the child then learns to say Sorry even when he or she doesn’t mean it. That’s fucked up.

Another example of a great quotable line: She wears those floral capris like her hymen is still intact.” These lines are not showcased; they are put into speedy, casual conversations where they could easily be overlooked. That is why I watch the episodes over again, to see what I missed the first time. My attention span is fairly good but my focus is not. I have at least 10 other thoughts in my mind when participating in a leisure activity, probably while working too, if I’m honest.

I watched the British Office episodes over and over again too, for the same reason. Subtitles gave me even more enjoyment and insight into the world of the weary office worker and their quick mumbled conversations. I guess that’s why I’m such a big fan of this long ago tv series; there are unplumbed depths and innuendo that largely go unnoticed at first glance. It’s as if I’m finding a secret meaning that few others ever discover.

Leave a Reply

