A few things

Most of the time I feel like I have a lot going on in my life; I have many plates I cannot let stop spinning. Lately, husband and I have been dealing with some changes.

Husband runs his own business in a leased retail environment, and a few weeks ago his landlord served him notice that landlord wants to take over this retail space for his own business. In one month’s time from that notice being served. This news was quite a blow, since moving a business is a big deal in terms of money, time, and re-establishment. There is also the problem of finding another space nearby that’s affordable. Husband and I looked at many rentals and finally he found the right one. Now the construction at the new place begins, which also costs money and time. During this transition I have been husband’s personal cheerleader. ‘You can do this! We will find you a great space! This move can be a positive event!’ I started believing my own hype, I’m THAT convincing.

Second, you may recall we had planned to sell our house and move to a less expensive one this past summer. That plan fell through with a gigantic thud. Our deposit on the new place that we didn’t end up buying remains in limbo. Instead of waiting for the sword of Damocles to fall and make our decision for us, we instead hired our own lawyer to begin legal proceedings to free up the deposit and move on with our lives. Day in and day out we think about this legal hassle; we will feel much lighter when this is dealt with.

So I have once again come around to accepting my cube farm life. As long as I have writing and editing work to do, I’m actually very happy there. Just last week I tore into an awful document and created a procedural masterpiece! My skills are appreciated at work. This past summer I took an extended vacation away from my job. At the end of it I reluctantly went back to the office, dreading the vague job I had been recently given along with the meaningless title. However, I learned something important: I like going to work. As a concept, I mean. This revelation was more like a profound epiphany; after all I had spent a considerable amount of time thinking up ways to create an income stream that would allow me a lot of free time on weekdays. But now I know I’m going to continue in an office and that’s ok. Better than ok, even. I’m still interested in thinking up business ideas, but I’m no longer a malcontent.

Later this year husband and I are hoping to open a second retail location for his business. That’s still on the table.

On March break this year we are doing a family trip to NYC baby. Husband and I really struggled to figure out how to help the offspring have spending money that will both empower them and not break us. We came up with matching them dollar for dollar on whatever they save up for that trip. I’m proud of this solution. We can help them and they can help themselves. I am working on our itinerary, and teenager is taking charge of 1 day during our trip. I am greatly looking forward to seeing what he comes up with.

Our summer 2014 trip to Ireland and England has to be postponed. Due to us buying a new car that we desperately needed, plus doing repairs (that aren’t finished yet due to snow) on the rental property (that add up to thousands of dollars), I had to postpone. Our consolation prize is NYC I suppose. Nonetheless, I’m looking forward to a terrific week and the midgets took the Europe postponement pretty well, especially when I explained the financial reasons. The airfare alone would cost us 5k and all together the trip was adding up to about 12k. Not doable this year. We weren’t planning a lavish trip, and would be camping for most of our time in Ireland. I got the trip down to the cheapest I felt comfortable with but we just couldn’t do it.

Airline travel is very pricey when flying overseas. Fuel cost is a big part of that price, I know. Still, I wish I could tap into some secret airplane ticket site that would let me find a way to score a great discount. The search continues.

Next summer I don’t know how many midgets would come with us on a 5-week excursion. Certainly boy midget will be working by then, probably as a camp counsellor. Teen will working too, but maybe he could fly and meet us for a week or so? And as for girl midget? Hmmm I really don’t know what to predict with her. As for the oldest 2, they are already bonafide adults with lives and full time jobs. But again, maybe a meet-up could be arranged. However it happens, the trip won’t be the same as it would have been this year, when everyone seems just about the right age. How quickly situations change.

Leave a Reply

