Prejudices and Stereotypes

I hate tattoos. I especially hate seeing them so often adorning the skin of 20-somethings these days. When I see a person with a visible tattoo on their arm, chest, shoulder, or leg, I question their intelligence. I wish I didn’t, because I spend a lot of time telling my midgets not to judge a book by its cover.

Actually, do I tell my midgets not to judge? Now that I think about it, I think I do teach them to judge adults, at least. I tell my midgets to trust their guts. If a person sounds/talks strangely, approaches them/invades their personal space, appears threatening (dirty? aggressive? drunk? high?) to avoid them like the plague. And I have threatened them with tattoo removal via razor blade if they ever dare to mark up their skin permanently. For me, the idea of adding a tattoo is like adding another barrier to one’s personal, educational and professional success. Why put up more roadblocks to your success than there already are? Isn’t life hard enough as it is? A tattoo, to me, is not about expressing individuality. I consider a tattoo to be a short-sighted decision with long-term implications.

I watched a Russell Peters show last night on Netflix, on which he expounded upon his hatred of tattoos as only a comedian can; by making fun of people who have them. In particular he took a 19-yr old woman to task, telling her she should have her skin for at least 20 years before marking it up. Further he points out a dragon tattoo on a white guy, comparing that tattoo to one of a dragon on the arm of a Chinese guy. According to Peters, at least the Chinese guy has a cultural connection to the symbol of a dragon. Yes true, but still. Dumb.

I love (not actually) when people in their 20s have (what seem like) random images that appeal to them at the time. And with all of the foresight someone in their 20s can muster, they can’t imagine ever regretting the decision to apply permanent art work to their skin. After all, they are fully fledged adults and perfectly capable of making their own decisions. Likely they haven’t experienced real regret in their lives yet. I’m sure they think they have, that they are wise and smart, but in one’s 20s you have no idea the twists and turns your life will take in the decades to come. I remember trying to imagine the challenges and issues I might face in my far future, and I was unable to. I still am. But at least I am insightful enough to realize I don’t know everything.

