How not to make money; a Business Model.

What business model supports the idea of opening your store at 9:30 am on weekdays? Especially when you sell smoothies and other health food items, or you are providing yoga classes.

I don’t know about you, gentle reader, but I often need sustenance and yoga before 9:30 am, preferably around 7 am. That’s because, by 9:30 am I’m at work.

The smoothie/health food place is very close to a busy bus stop. Many dollars are waiting to be spent by many people on their way to the office, on over-priced smoothies that are made of a few basic ingredients and ice cubes in a blender. The profit margin must be why the business still occupies an expensive rental space. The products are yummy and rare (because there isn’t dairy in them), but unobtainable before 9:30 am on a weekday, and 10 am on weekends.

The yoga studio has been in business for 2 years, but I have no idea why. Their earliest yoga class starts at 9:30, which is the least convenient time for any working stiff to attend yoga. To reduce their stiffness. Ha. Many dollars are itching to be spent before 9 am. Doesn’t it seem logical to take available money between 7 am – 9 am? On weekends, the first class is at 9 am.

Recently the yoga studio decided to run a 4-week class on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 7 am – 8 am. I eagerly signed up. Most of the time, there are just 2 students in the class; me and 1 other woman. I suspect that’s because the class wasn’t added to the online class schedule and nothing was posted outside the studio. The only reason I found out about it was because I happened across a small item on the web site’s home page, a notice that has since been deleted.

One morning I met up with the instructor and the other student outside the yoga studio because the owner had failed to leave a key to open the building. Seeing as how we live in a frozen tundra, class was cancelled that day. Also unfortunate was 2 other women stopping by because they had wanted to take the class that day. They didn’t return the next time class was held.

The lack of initiative is strange. Or maybe the initiative is not obvious to me. I’m willing to admit I’m wrong until I see the For Rent signs in their shop windows.

 

Edit: The smoothie/health food place opens at 9 am, not 9:30 as previously reported.

Leave a Reply

