How Grey’s Anatomy Sparks Conversations at My House

I have begun watching the series Grey’s Anatomy with my midgets. We have 11 delicious seasons to plough through, of which we have now finished 1. There is a lot of medical talk of course, surgeries of course, emergency rooms, various patients, and hospital situations. This show also follows the lives of the doctors, nurses, and interns who work at this fictional hospital in Seattle Washington. Luckily, it rains there a lot, which helps add a good dose of pathetic fallacy to the drama.

I have begun talking to my midgets about being doctors, and what sort of doctor they would like to be. Boy midget has pretty much already settled on computer engineering, but he’s still young so nothing is set in stone. Girl midget has said she doesn’t want to operate on people because of the blood and intense pressure, so she and I are talking about bloodless or relatively bloodless medical specialties such as osteopath, podiatrist, optometrist. This tv show makes it easy for me to bring up these subjects and subtly influence the paths of my midgets without them even realizing it. Pretty effing cool.

Because there are many subplots regarding the personal lives of the medical staff and patients, there are many adult situations being explored, such as marriage, infidelity, trust, in-sickness-and-in-health concepts, casual sex, unrequited love, power struggles, parenthood, and friendship. Recently on the show there is a married couple in which the wife had an affair, and so at home we have been talking about marriage vows, committment, and working through problems vs. getting a divorce. My midgets of course don’t understand that marriages have their ups and downs, and when a marriage is down, there has to be real effort to overcome the difficulties and carry on. And that sometimes, even after both partners have really tried to repair the relationship, this isn’t always possible and so they split up. I have recently related these plots to the story of their father and I splitting up. Now, I use broad strokes. I emphasize that he and I tried to keep our marriage alive, but we have fundamental differences that prevent us from having a productive happy lasting relationship. The midgets of course are surprised by this new information, but seem to listen attentively without judgement.

When my midgets were very young, it was important to me to keep them from seeing a bad example of marriage. To that I have added the task of actively showing them and talking about what makes up a good marriage. Whereas before I was protecting them, now I am teaching them.  I try to be as honest as possible about why the marriage with their father ended.  Perhaps I will be able to spare them from having to untangle that ball of yarn when they are adults and finding their way in their own adult relationships. Even in their teen years, when they start dating, I hope they can see what is healthy and workable within their relationships, and what is not.

Whodathunk tv would be so helpful?!

Leave a Reply

